Team Washington Sweeps BorderClash 20

Beaverton, OR - A sea of green and blue jerseys line up on opposite ends of each other, staring at their opponent as they await of the massive cannon to fire off to begin one of the biggest rivalry races in the nation.

The cannon fires off and the sea erupts with loud footprints running towards one another as if they were charging in a battle to claim the supremacy of the border between Washington and Oregon.

For the 20th year, the best high school cross country runners from the states of Washington and Oregon fought for Pacific Northwest dominance in the Nike BorderClash at Nike World Headquarters Campus in Beaverton, Oregon.

Bellarmine Prep freshman and Washington state 4A champion Ella Borshiem won the girls individual title running 18:08.5 and Isssquah's Julia David-Smith finished in second running 18:09.7.

Borshiem and David-Smith were among seven girls to finish in the top 10 as Team Washington outlasted Team Oregon 20-41.

North Central's Allie Janke and Erinn Hill placed fourth and seventh and ran 18:11.8 and 18:23. Janke won the Washington State 3A race and led the Indians to a back to back state team title.

Washington state 1A champion Naomi Smith from King's finished sixth with a time of 18:22.

Taylor Roe of Lake Stevens was eighth running 18:27.2, followed by Bellingham's Annika Reiss as she place ninth and ran 18:30.2.

Team Oregon's top runner was Fiona Max as she placed third with a time of 18:10.3.

Team Washington has now won the girls race for 10 consecutive years. The last time they had lost to Team Oregon was in 2008.

The boys from Team Washington also came away with the victory over Team Oregon winning 25-35.

After Team Oregon had two runners finish first and second, six runners from Team Washington filled the third through eighth place finishes to secure the team title.

Joe Waskom, the Washington state 4A champion, was the first runner to cross the line for Team Washington as he ran 15:55.

Waskom is from Mount Si and recently signed a letter of intent to run for the University of Washington next fall.

Tahoma's Ethan Martin (4th, 15:55.7) and Gig Harbor's Bradley Peloquin (5th, 15:57.5) were the other two runners on Team Washington to break 16 minutes.

Kennewick's Johan Correa was sixth running 16:00.3. Correa was this years Washington state 3A champion.

Kamiakin's Ryan Child placed seventh running 16:00.5 and Lewis & Clark's Wil Smith finished eighth running 16:01.

Washington state 2A state champion Eliason Kabasenche rounded up the top 10 placing 10th running 16:05.1.

Evan Holland of Team Oregon won the boys race running a time of 15:34.5. Teammate Tim Stevens was second and ran 15:52.4.

The boys from Team Washington have been just as dominating as the girls as they have beaten Team Oregon for a 14th consecutive year.

For more results from Nike BorderClash 20, visit:

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All