Small School LC Takes Down Big Schools

Lynden, WA - With the help of four top 10 finishers, the Lynden Christian girls cross country scored 28 points for a 1st place team finish over Burlington-Edison and Sedro-Woolley in a Northwest Conference dual meet at Lynden Christian High School.

Maya Ewing and Simone Veltkamp helped the Lyncs to a 2nd consecutive dual meet win with their 2nd and 4th place finishes. Ewing ran 21:10 and Veltkamp ran 22:00. Brianna Veenstra and Cindy German were 5th and 6th running 23:03 and 23:11.

Burlington-Edison also had four girls place in the top 10 with freshman Sage Mailhiot placing 1st overall with a time of 20:41. Annika Schlimmer (21:58), Katie Sanders (23:13), and Katie Hayton (23:44) were 3rd, 7th, and 10th for the Tigers.

Tessa Smith and Stacey Griffith were 8th and 9th for the Sedro-Woolley Cubs as they ran 23:33 and 23:43.

Sedro's Rafe Holz and Lachlan Boyd went 1-2 in the boy's race to help the Cubs win the dual meet over rival Burlington-Edison 26-31. Holz ran 16:55 and Boyd ran 17:41.

Ryan Garcia and Tyler Malloy were the other top finishers for the Cubs in the top 10 as they placed 5th and 7th running 18:07 and 18:24.

Burlington did have 5 runners in the top 10 led by Connor Nelson and Carson Lee as they finished 3rd and 4th in times of 18:02 and 18:04. The other top Tigers were Dane Hansen (6th, 18:22), Will Corcoran (8th, 18:33), and Adam Greenburg (10th, 18:47).

Lynden Christian's Shane Hamstra went on to run 18:42 for a 9th place finish to lead all Lyncs.


Boys - Sedro-Woolley (26), Burlington-Edison (31), Lynden Christian (79)

1. Rafe Holz (16:55, Sedro), 2. Lachland Boyd (17:41, Sedro), 3. Connor Nelson (18:02, Burlington), 4. Carson Lee (18:04, Burlington), 5. Ryan Garcia (18:07, Sedro), 6. Dane Hansen (18:22, Burlington), 7. Tyler Malloy (18:24, Sedro), 8. Will Corcoran (18:33, Burlington), 9. Shane Hamstra (18:42, LC), 10. Adam Greenburg (18:47, Burlington)

Girls - Lynden Christian (28), Burlington-Edison (34), Sedro-Woolley (71)

1. Sage Mailhiot (20:41, Burlington), 2. Maya Ewing (21:10, LC), 3. Annika Schlimmer (21:58, Burlington), 4. Simone Veltkamp (22:00, LC), 5. Brianna Veenstra (23:03, LC), 6. Cindy German (23:11, LC), 7. Katie Sander (23:13, Burlington), 8. Tessa Smith (23:33, Sedro), 9. Stacey Griffith (23:43, Sedro), 10. Katie Hayton (23:44, Burlington)

For more results, visit:

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All