10/24/19 Recap: Walla Walla Duo Lead Blue Devils to Back-to-Back MCC Title

RICHLAND - Walla Walla's Cooper Cortinas and Cannon Angotti placed first and second in the 4A Mid-Columbia Conference Championships on Thursday, October 24, leading the Blue Devils to the team title for a second consecutive year scoring 37 points.

Logo courtesy of Walla Walla High School.

Cortinas came in first overall by a narrow amount over his teammate, Agnotti, running a time of 16:07.64. Agnotti finished as the runner-up in a time of 16:08.93. Brody Hartley was another Blue Devil to finish in the top 10 placing ninth in a time of 16:57.73.

Chiawana's Austin Bachman placed third overall running 16:20.19 to help lead the Riverhawks to a second place team finish scoring 54 points.

Tyler Jenkins and Diego Avila finished sixth and 10th running times of 16:52.13 and 17:05.12 for Chiawana.

Hanford's Kenneth Taylor and Austin Blacketer ran 16:51.61 and 16:55.57 to place fifth and eighth for the third place Hawks.

Richland's Jacoby Sherman finished in fourth running 16:24.71 and Pasco's Elias Torres was seventh in a time of 16:55.22.

In the 3A race, Isaac Teeples and the top ranked 4A Kamiakin Braves scored 15 points defeating Southridge to win the team title.

Teeples ran 15:53.94 for the win, followed by Stanford Smith (15:55.1), Grayson Wilcott (16:06.2), Jax Weide (16:14.74), and Andrew Holladay (16:16.75).

On the girl's side, Richland's Natalie Ruzauskas won the 4A race in a time of 18:51.64, while also leading the No. 10 ranked 4A team to the conference title scoring 31 points.

The Bombers had three other girls in the top 10 including Emma Summers (3rd, 19:48.22), Adrijana Fundak (5th, 19:52.73), and Tylar Wolff (10th, 20:36.35).

Walla Walla's Ella Nelson placed second running 19:21.54, followed by teammate, Sariah Hepworth, in fourth place with a time of 19:49.1.

Second place Hanford scored 55 points led by Elizabeth McCluskey (6th, 19:57.24), Kendra Keller (7th, 20:11.69), and Josie Wright (9th, 20:35.25).

Kennewick's Gerladin Correa won the 3A race in a time of 18:46.78, while also leading the Lions to a first place team finish scoring 36 points. Other top Lions were Macy Marquardt (3rd, 19:44.16), Paige Raebel (9th, 20:40.58), and Lauren Thompson (10th, 20:50.74).

Hermiston's Cydney Sanchez finished as the runner-up in a time of 19:42.24.

Deverie Gutierrez of Kamiakin placed fifth running a time of 20:15.70 and the Braves were second with 44 points. Hannah Paulsen and Marisa Memmott were sixth and seventh running 20:19.51 and 20:27.51.

What's Next?